Crock-pot Cabbage and Potatoes

I’m getting a little tired of stir fries and microwave-steamed veggies. It’s time to get a little more creative.

Hence — I’m breaking out the crock-pot.

Crockpot

In the last Bountiful Baskets I received one head of cabbage and a BUNCH of red potatoes. Combining the two sounded delicious, but I didn’t want them just steamed or boiled; I wanted something a little more flavorful, a little more delicious, a little more unique.

Then I found Stephanie O’dea’s Roasted Cabbage and Potatoes in the Crockpot.

Roasted Cabbage and Potatoes 3

Oh. My. Goodness. Talk about scrumptious, savory, delectable, unique, and absolutely perfect. The cabbage literally caramelizes in the pot and even the potatoes brown. It was so amazing that I’m going to make it again tonight.

Give it a try! When I was cooking, I did make a few changes to Stephanie’s recipe. I didn’t have balsamic vinegar, so I subbed red wine vinegar and Truvia (I didn’t measure either). Also, because I have a small crock-pot, I only used 3 medium potatoes and I halved the rest of the ingredients; the dish took a little less than 2 hours to cook on high. And I apparently forgot to add the garlic cloves, although I did use garlic salt.

As for the pictures, a rather large mouse ate a little more than a third of the dish before I took any pictures. So there was more originally, just to let you know.

Roasted Cabbage and Potatoes 3

Tonight I might add some rosemary as well. And maybe I’ll actually remember the garlic!

What’s your favorite dish to make with potatoes?

How often do you use a crock-pot?

 

2 thoughts on “Crock-pot Cabbage and Potatoes

Leave a Reply

