Christmas Crafts: DIY Candlelight Cans

It’s less than a month until Christmas and I don’t have a single Christmas present made yet. It’s time to get busy, but with my class right now and a 400-level class next block, I don’t have a lot of time. I could just buy some gifts, and I’ll probably buy a few, but I prefer hand-making gifts; they seem to have more personal value that way.

So how about something quick? And cheap? And even recyclable?

Maybe you’re looking for the same thing….

How about these guys?

Tin cans with holes punched in them to make reindeer designs so the light from a candle inside the can shines out through the hole

Or these?

Tin cans with holes punched in them to make star and heart designs so the light from a candle inside the can shines out through the holes

I found both images on Pinterest  when I was cruising around for some simple DIY decor for my basement. I might not be able to make something as pretty as the reindeer one, but with a nail and hammer I might be able to make some pretty fun designs!

I’ll be sure to post some pictures if I ever get around to making these.

Have you ever made similar projects before?

Do you prefer to buy your Christmas gifts, or make them?

 

2 thoughts on “Christmas Crafts: DIY Candlelight Cans

Leave a Reply

